College of Pharmacy faculty, students take home awards at 2019 ACCP Annual Meeting

Susan Fagan, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, Albert W. Jowdy Professor and Distinguished Research Professor at the College of Pharmacy, has been awarded the prestigious Therapeutic Frontiers Lecture Award by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

Her lecture, presented at the annual ACCP meeting in New York in October, was entitled Reducing Disability After Stroke:  New Avenues.  Fagan, whose multifaceted research grew out of the study of ischemic stroke, described receiving the award as a “highlight” of her distinguished career.  She credited friends and colleagues with encouraging her to push the boundaries of her research and discover new therapies for stroke patients.

The Therapeutic Frontiers Lecture Award honors internationally recognized scientists “whose research is actively extending pharmacotherapy into new frontiers,” according to the ACCP website.  Fagan joins an acclaimed group of researchers whose work has been recognized by the award since 1981.

In addition to her ongoing program of research, Susan Fagan serves as assistant dean for UGA College of Pharmacy’s extended campus in Augusta and director of the Center for Pharmacy and Experimental Therapeutics at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University.

Dr. Chris Bland, Clinical Associate Professor at the extended campus in Savannah, was named the Infectious Diseases PRN Distinguished Scholar for 2019.

The Top Overall Student Poster Award went to fourth-year student Kelly Gamble for “Hidden Fluids in Plain Sight:  Identifying Intravenous Medication Classes Contributing to Intensive Care Fluid Status, along with Critical Care Collaborative faculty members Susan Smith, Andrea Sikora Newsome, Chris Bland, Anthony Hawkins and Trisha Branan.

Why Pharmacy at UGA?

Ranked 15th out of 141 pharmacy programs in the country by US News & World Report, UGA Pharmacy is at the top of its class. Learn more below:

Start your Pharmacy Journey

Apply Today Get More Info