College of Pharmacy News Briefs

From accolades to awards to success stories, and more, the College of Pharmacy continues to soar. Read the latest highlights about the UGA College of Pharmacy in the following news briefs.

College Receives Insight Into Diversity Magazine’s 2024 Award

The College of Pharmacy received the 2024 Alumni Association Inclusive Excellence Award from Insight Into Diversity magazine, the largest and oldest diversity and inclusion publication in higher education. The award honors alumni association programs, culture, and initiatives that encourage and support diversity, inclusion, and a sense of belonging for all alumni. The College will be featured in the June 2024 issue of the magazine. In 2023, the College received the Inspiring Programs in STEM Award from the magazine.

Click here to read the full story.

Drs. May and Brown Inducted Into NAP as Distinguished Fellows

Drs. Rusty May, Assistant Dean for Extended Campuses, and Tim Brown, Director of Interprofessional Education, were inducted into the National Academies of Practice as Distinguished Fellows earlier this spring. NAP is a non-profit organization founded in 1981 to advise governmental bodies on the national healthcare system. Distinguished practitioners and scholars are elected by their peers from multiple different health professions to join the only interprofessional group of healthcare practitioners and scholars dedicated to supporting affordable, accessible, coordinated quality healthcare for all.

Promotion and Tenure Announcements

UGA President Dr. Jere Morehead has approved recommended promotions for Dr. Trisha Branan to Clinical Professor; Dr. Rebecca Stone to Clinical Professor, Dr. Christy Forehand to Clinical Associate Professor – Adjunct, and Dr. Lilian Sattler to Associate Professor, who also was awarded tenure status. These faculty are members of the Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy (CAP) Department at the College; their promotions will take effect July 1. Click here to read their full story. Other promotions announced internally include Dr. Joshua Caballero to Associate Professor on the tenure track in CAP. “Dr. Caballero possesses the spirit, intellect, diligence, and passion of an outstanding teacher and mentor for our students,” said Dr. Young. “Since joining us two years ago in a temporary capacity, he has become an integral part of our team.  Read his full story. Other CAP promotions include Dr. Priya Narayanan to Director of the Clinical and Experimental Therapeutics (CET) program, and Dr. Lorenzo Villa-Zapata to Director of the Pharmaceutical Health Services, Outcomes and Policy (PHSOP) program. (Pictured: Drs. Branan, Sattler, Stone, and Forehand.)

Outstanding Teachers Recognized

Three College of Pharmacy faculty members were recognized at UGA’s recent Honors Week as Teachers of the Year. Dr. Gurvinder Singh Rekhi, Director of the Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences Program, received the Undergraduate/Graduate Teacher of the Year.  Dr. Susan Smith, Clinical Associate Professor, was honored with the Instructional Innovation and Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award.  Dr. Randall Tackett, Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy Professor and Associate Department Head, was awarded PharmD Teacher of the Year.

UGAC3 Publishes InteGREAT: A Guidebook for Creating Great Healthcare Teams

The UGA Critical Care Collaborative (UGAC3) has released a new “how-to” guide for healthcare-oriented work groups. Titled InteGREAT: A Guidebook for Creating Great Healthcare Teams, the publication is a top seller on Amazon, ranked number one for new releases in two categories: Medical Encyclopedias and Strategic Business Planning. The book walks through principles and best practices for teamwork in concise, straightforward chapters that are each followed by guiding questions for the team to consider. After reading the book and completing all of the exercises, the reader will walk away with a complete handbook for their team, including goals, a logistical plan, and individualized best practices. Composed of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy faculty members Drs. Anthony Hawkins, Susan Smith, Trisha Branan, Andrea Sikora, and Chris Bland, UGAC3 fosters critical care research and education across the State of Georgia.

Dr. Bartlett Offers Expertise on Statewide Drug Shortages

Dr. Michael G. Bartlett, Associate Dean for Science Education, Research, and Technology and University Professor, has traveled to the Georgia State Capitol several times in the past few months to meet with elected officials and policy makers to provide expert commentary on solutions for drug shortages. From members of the state’s Appropriations and Health and Human Services committees to staff in the Department of Community Health and the Governor’s Office, numerous individuals across both the legislative and executive branches have been briefed on actionable steps to ensure reliable and sustainable patient access to lifesaving medications—and, in the process, Dr. Barlett has shown what it means to truly embody the university’s commitment to public service and leadership. Below, He is pictured (l) with Rep. David Knight from Griffin (r), who serves as Chair of the Appropriations Committee for Higher Education and who has the designation of Honorary Doctor of Pharmacy from the State Board of Pharmacy.

Dr. Young Featured in “We Are Georgia”

In the past several months, UGA has launched a series of stories dubbed “We Are Georgia,” which highlights ways that faculty members positively impact the state. Dr. Henry N. Young, Head of the Department of Clinical and Administrative Pharmacy and Kroger Professor, was one of the first spotlights in the campaign due to his dedication to rural health. Click here to read the full story.

Dr. Rekhi Elected USP Voting Delegate

Dr. Singh Rekhi, Director of the Bachelor of Science of Pharmaceutical Sciences program, has been selected to represent the College as the voting delegate to the United States Pharmacopeia (USP). Dr. Rekhi will serve in this role for four years, participating in USP governance activities and the 2025 USP Convention.

AC2 Has Web Presence

The UGA Ambulatory Care Collaborative (AC2) strives to advance pharmacy practice by improving access to quality patient care across the State of Georgia and beyond. The group, composed of faculty members from four College of Pharmacy campuses, offers progressive ambulatory care education in the pharmacy curriculum, ambulatory care training opportunities for postgraduate pharmacy residents, clinical pharmacy services within local communities, and clinical research. Members include Drs. Josh Caballero, Chelsea Keedy, Sharmon Osae, Rebecca Stone, Devin Lavender, and Beth Phillips.  AC2 recently launched a web page to promote their programming.

To visit the page, see here.

Why Pharmacy at UGA?

Ranked 15th out of 141 pharmacy programs in the country by US News & World Report, UGA Pharmacy is at the top of its class. Learn more below:

Start your Pharmacy Journey

Apply Today Get More Info