Jason Zastre Named College of Pharmacy 2017 Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Jason Zastre, the College of Pharmacy’s 2017 Teacher of the Year! Dr. Zastre, an associate professor in the department of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences, joined the College of Pharmacy in 2007. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Pharmacy from the University of Manitoba in 1994 and 1998. He later earned his doctorate in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of British Columbia in 2004. His research is centered around the impact of vitamin B1 supplementation on cancer progression. Dr. Zastre has published work on this topic in seven scholarly articles and has made many contributions to the College’s instructional programs.

Dr. Zastre attributes his success to his “pseudo flip model” of teaching. Last year, he coordinated the revision of one of the college’s graduate courses by facilitating an approach that implements more critical thinking and learning on the students’ part rather than didactically lecturing and expecting them to memorize everything. “We’re engaging students more in their learning, and they’re having to critically think about it and self-direct their learning,” Dr. Zastre said.

Dr. Zastre is in excellent company; other College of Pharmacy faculty members nominated for the honor were Trisha Branan, Mandi Murph and Singh Rekhi. “There are many great teachers here in our college, and to be recognized as ‘it’ definitely is very humbling,” Dr. Zastre said. “Being selected was surprising considering the field of applicants.”

Dr. Zastre’s teaching philosophy along with his outstanding contributions to the college’s instructional programs allow him to be more than deserving of this award. Congratulations on your accomplishments, Dr. Zastre!

Why Pharmacy at UGA?

Ranked 15th out of 141 pharmacy programs in the country by US News & World Report, UGA Pharmacy is at the top of its class. Learn more below:

Start your Pharmacy Journey

Apply Today Get More Info