Faculty, Staff Awards Underscore College’s Success Story

Several faculty and staff awards and recognitions were announced this spring, highlighting the College’s commitment to student success.

“I am immensely proud of the stellar team we have in place at the College of Pharmacy,” said Dean Kelly Smith. “Because of their expertise and diligence in providing a superior pharmacy and science education, our students have successful outcomes.”

The following are this year’s faculty and staff awards and recognitions:


University Awards

Dr. Henry Young Engaged Scholar Award
UGA Public Service & Outreach

CARE Center TeamDr. Devin Lavender, Team Memeber – Team Impact Award
UGA Office of Research

Endowed Professorships

Dr. Christopher Bland Albert W. Jowdy Professor in Pharmacy Care

Dr. Somanath Shenoy Kenneth L. Waters Pharmacy Professor

Dr. George Zheng Panoz Professor of Pharmacy

Teacher Awards

Dr. Ashley HanningsPharmD Teacher of the Year
Public Service Associate, Experience Programs

Dr. Somanath Shenoy Graduate/Undergraduate/Certificate Teacher of the Year
Kenneth L. Waters Pharmacy Professor

Dr. Anthony Hawkins – Instructional Innovation & Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award

Promotion & Tenure

Effective July 1, 2023

Dr. Linda Logan – promoted to: Senior Public Service Associate, Experience Programs

Dr. Sharmon Osae – promoted to: Clinical Associate Professor

Dr. Priya Narayanan – tenured


Chris Duran, IIT Manager for Client Support Service, who was named “Employee of the Year.” Dean Kelly Smith presents Chris his recognition.

Chris Duran – Employee of the Year
IIT Manager for Client Support Service

Erik Dennison, Dr. Shane Pruitt, Leslie Standridge – Pharmacy Dean Special Achievement Award
Office of Student Affairs

David Kwiatkowski – Rookie of the Year
IIT Technical Professional

Dr. Shane Pruitt – Bright Idea Award
Office of Student Affairs

Mickey YongueSpirit of the College Award
Senior Director, Marketing and Communications

Years of Service

5 Years

  • Dr. Duc Do – Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
  • Chrystal Harrison – Pharmacist, Medication Access Program
  • Dr. Michelle McElhannon – Public Service Assistant, Experience Programs
  • Dr. Andrea Sikora – Clinical Associate Professor, CAP
  • Dr. Susan Smith – Clinical Associate Professor, CAP
  • Dr. Misha Watts – Campus Director for Pharmacy Practice Experiences Southeast Georgia, Experience Programs


10 Years

  • Kim Hamby – Director of Alumni Relations, Development and Alumni Relations
  • Jessica Hart – Business Affairs Manager, Business Affairs
  • Cicely Hemphill – College of Pharmacy Registrar, Student Affairs
  • Katie Smith – Instructional Designer, Instructional Innovation and Research
  • Andrew Wilson – Client Services Technician, IIT

15 Years

  • Arica Barfield – Administrative Associate II, CAP
  • Dr. Vivia Hill-Silcott – Academic Professional, Student Affairs
  • Johnna Hodges – Academic Professional, IBRS
  • Kim McKenzie – Business Manager III, CAP
  • Dr. Beth Phillips – Assistant Department Head, CAP
  • Dr. Jason Zastre – Interim Assistant Department Head, PBS

20 Years

  • Dr. Deborah Elder – Interim Assistant Department Head, PBS

25 Years

  • Dr. Lori Duke – Assistant Dean, Experience Programs

Dr. Henry Young received the UGA Public Service and Outreach Engaged Scholar Award this spring. Standing with Dr. Young are: Dr. Jennifer Frum, Vice President for Public Service and Outreach; UGA President Jere Morehead; Young; Dean Kelly Smith; and Dr. S. Jack Hu, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost.

Why Pharmacy at UGA?

Ranked 15th out of 141 pharmacy programs in the country by US News & World Report, UGA Pharmacy is at the top of its class. Learn more below:

Start your Pharmacy Journey

Apply Today Get More Info